Along the Away

travel, dream, create, inspire, appreciate

Although I’ve only been back home from India for four months, I did really, really deserve a holiday. A proper one, where you take a suitcase, with wheels, coz it ain’t ever going to be hefted up on your back – no way!

Rest and relaxation all the way!

India is: travel, a girls week in the Whitsundays is: holiday. So off I went to Airlie Beach with my sister and a good friend from my uni days. We stayed at Pentacles in a penthouse apartment, complete with jacuzzi on the water view balcony, an infinity pool and a day spa a couple of doors down.

Our apartment was lovely – particularly the balcony. We had some friendly visitors each morning and afternoon. It started with one…

And then some friends came along…

So we swam, we jacuzzi-ed, we lounged and talked and read on the balcony. We had a spa day with the works, wandered around the main street, and ate ice-cream every day (sometimes twice a day).

We got dressed up and out for dinner every night, cocktails mandatory!

We wandered around town, swam in the lagoon and walked along the beach.

This was all very good and well, but the highlight was definitely the day trip we took out to the FantaSea pontoon. First we rode out by boat to the pontoon where there is a glass viewing room underneath.

The best bit was when we went on a helicopter ride over the reef!

Such an amazing experience – in particular seeing beautiful Heart Reef:

We also snorkeled a part of the Great Barrier Reef. We had to put on these ridiculous brightly coloured body suit things, but it was worth it to get in the water, I love snorkeling! Not that it was the greatest snorkeling I’ve done, I’m guessing the volume of people that visit this area has something to do with the scarcity of underwater life and the average state of the reef which is sad. I would love to visit the Great Barrier Reef again one day and see the wide variety of its beauty by traveling to some of the islands.

It was a wonderful week away :-)

The following two tabs change content below.
Sydney based, coastal dwelling. When I'm not at work I'm somewhere outdoors, or in the yoga studio, or at my local cafe, or pottering at home.

Latest posts by Donna (see all)